Closing in on ’15-’16

brainhoney logo chromebook-logo

In a few weeks I will begin my third year as an eighth grade English teacher.  Previously, I taught fifth and sixth graders for seven years.  One of the things that I have been continually working on since I began as a rookie fifth and sixth grade English teacher is integrating technology in the classroom.

At the end of last year I learned that I would have the opportunity to pilot a technology program in my classroom.  Myself and one our very techie high school teachers will be using BrainHoney and Chromebooks in our classroom.

For those not familiar with BrainHoney, here are a few descriptions:

  • BrainHoney is an online learning management system (LMS) that is useful for enhancing the teaching and learning process. It can be used to deliver fully online courses but also can be used to facilitate a hybrid course or to supplement regular classroom learning.  Source
  • BrainHoney is learning infrastructure. It is core learning technology, digital content, assessment and alignment that powers virtual schools, university systems, traditional and blended schools, teacher training programs, and other custom solutions. Unlike other systems that require you to adapt to their way of teaching and learning, BrainHoney adapts what you need it to be and grows with your organization’s needs.  Source

My goal is to eliminate the use of paper as much as I can.  I am not foolish enough to believe I can go 100% paperless.  There are things that may pop up along the way to ensure that individual students can access the curriculum that require the use of paper.  With that being said I am going to attempt to be as proactive as possible when working with BrainHoney to avoid using paper.

I plan to chronicle my successes and failures through this blog and share how exactly I am using technology in my classes.  If you are a fellow educator or just someone who finds this kind of stuff interesting I hope you will read my posts.

Leave a Reply

